Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login
[Next]

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 8/20/2019

Frantisek Cicko of Bradford, West Yorkshire England asks...

Hi my firend was trying to score a bicycle kick he was going for the ball he was actualy in the air to hit the ball but the oponent pushed him with body and said he didnt seen him is a foul ???? ...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 8/20/2019

Denise Volk of Layton, UT UAS asks...

An attacking player is fouled in the penalty area and still scores. What is the correct call. Let goal stand or not count goal and award the penalty kick....

Read The Full Q & A

Law 11 - Offside 8/20/2019

Jason of Taber, Alberta Canada asks...

Offside! A free kick is taken, players A&B are in an offside position,when the ball is played, player C runs past the wall and past A&B the ball hits player C in the back dropping to player A who was originally offside when the free kick was taken ...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 8/20/2019

Jason of Taber, Alberta Canada asks...

How much advantage is enough? We have a couple of games this season where an attacking player is fouled outside the box but manages to play on. The ref calls advantage. The attacking player on both occasions is clear through on goal and shoots cleanl...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 10 - Determining the Outcome of a Match 8/20/2019

Rocky of Mumbai, Maharashtra India asks...

Q. My question was with regards to the goalkeeper accidentally throwing the ball into his own net.

To make it more clear - the situation arises when the goal keeper has collected the ball inside the penalty area. He positions himself now to ...

Read The Full Q & A

Other 8/20/2019

Russell of Sydney, Australia asks...

1000% agree with Matt - It's a warm and fuzzy feeling when you can connect a part of your match (mental or physical) with something learnt from this site.

Also - Ref Dawson unleashed his favourite line for the first time in a while ...'your ...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 11 - Offside 8/20/2019

Pete of Gloucester, UK asks...

VAR offside. In the Wolves v Man Utd game the offside VAR pictures showed the vertical line to assess whether the player was in an offside position taken from a line aligned with the back of the ball. I thought the rule was if the player is in front ...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 11 - Offside 8/19/2019

John Ashworth of cambridge, Cambridgeshire UK asks...

As I understand it, a player is offside if he is in an offside position at the moment that the ball is kicked by the passing player. That moment is when the passing player's boot first touches the ball.
VAR imagery concentrates exclusively on the...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 14 - The Penalty kick 8/19/2019

Rocky of Mumbai, Maharashtra India asks...

Q1. In a penalty kick, can the kicker score a goal if the ball has rebounded off the post?

Q2. As per the new laws, since defending players are allowed to receive the ball inside the penalty area, what if the goalkeeper accidentally throws t...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 13 - Free Kicks 8/17/2019

Tony of Minneapolis, MN USA asks...

If a team/player is unaware if a restart is DFK or IDFK despite your use/absence of the raised hand IDFK signal and they ask you what the restart is, should you tell the player? Or what if the coach tells them incorrect information regarding the rest...

Read The Full Q & A

[Next]

AskTheref.com Educating and Amusing The Soccer Referee Since October 11, 1999

Soccer Referee Extras


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.