Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login
[Next]

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 6/23/2019

lonnie hunter of saegertown, pa USA asks...

when 2 defenders challenge (with contact) from opposite sides, thereby sandwiching the attacker preventing him from continuing to play the ball...is this a foul, or something I dreamed up?...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 13 - Free Kicks 6/22/2019

Kailyn of Winnipeg, Canada asks...

If there is a free kick against the forward in the penalty box, does the goalie get to take the kick anywhere in the box? Or does it have to be where the foul was?...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 18 - Common Sense 6/22/2019

John J. O'Hara of Berlin, NJ United States asks...

I have no other place to rant so here goes. 1. I'm getting a little tired of hearing Lalas going on about goalkeepers cheating.Oh to be a 25 year old referee with a pocket full of yellow and red cards for diving-not so much in the women's game but de...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 16 - The Goal Kick 6/21/2019

Tony of Whitehorse, Yukon Canada asks...

In the Copa America game between Chile and Ecuador, in the 45th minute first half, there was a goal kick awarded to Chile and the goalie took the goal kick directly 2 a teammate located inside the penalty area. In other words the ball did not go outs...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 6/21/2019

Mary Ramirez-de-Arellano of DAMASCUS, MD United States asks...

When, if ever, can a goal keeper throw the ball out beyond the penalty area and then immediately dribble it up field without it having first touched another player after his throw? (He has thrown it to himself.)...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 11 - Offside 6/21/2019

Petr of Prague, Czech Republic Czech Republic asks...

Hello,

I have one simple question about 'offside line'.

Advice for referees says:'No part of the attacking player other than the arms may be nearer the opponents' goal line than the TORSO, HEAD OR LEGS of the SECOND-LAST DEFENDER.'<...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 6/20/2019

William of Cork, Munster Ireland asks...

Attacking team Centre half uses the shoulders of his CF to raise him into the air and head the ball into the net from a corner scoring a goal

What action should referee take
...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 13 - Free Kicks 6/20/2019

Juan Hartnack of West Haven, CT USA asks...

On a free kick, the ball is passed back to the keeper, who misplays it and the ball caroms off the keeper's foot and into goal, what is the proper restart?...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 14 - The Penalty kick 6/19/2019

John J. O'Hara of Berlin, NJ United States asks...

The June 1st allowance of a goalkeeper being allowed one step off goal-line on a penalty is fairer in my opinion. Why did they wait right before the World Cup to institute this? (causes goalkeeper confusion) Will this new update on Law 14 appear in n...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 11 - Offside 6/19/2019

russell of Sydney, Kerr-stralia asks...

Offside or HB ?

https://www.yoursoccerdose.com/11703460-brazil-vs-venezuela-copa-america/#2

Brazil had a goal ruled out by VAR, from what is being called as offside. Live commentary and post match reports suggest offside.
The Re...

Read The Full Q & A

[Next]

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.