Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 9850

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

RE: Pro Other

Dennis Griffin of Trenton, NJ asks...

You forum (and Law 12) has always stated that cards(red/yellow) are for players and substitutes. But I read (see below) that a coach received a red card in a WC qualifier..."After a goalless first half, Saturday's game changed in the 49th minute when Bulgarian Blagoy Georgiev was sent off for a bad tackle on Arsenal midfielder Fredrik Ljungberg. The sending off enraged Stoichkov who in turn was shown a red card.".."Belgian Referee Frank de Bleeckere showed a red card to Stoichkov during the World Cup qualifier versus Sweden"..Was this bad reporting or bad officiating?

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Bad reporting, as usual

Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

If the referee did show a card to the coach he'll still be explaining his action to the match inspector. This is something the Laws of the Game do not allow him to do. ..Regards,

Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Victor Matheson

The referee may dismiss coaches and bench personnel from the field, but is not supposed to actually display or show them the red card. The effect is the same as a red card to a field player or a substitute, so in common language, one might say the coach has been "red carded" even if no red card was shown. While I try to use precise language when writing up game reports, when I am simply telling colleagues that I had to get rid of a coach, I usually say "I red-carded the coach" rather than "I dismissed the coach from the field of play."

Read other questions answered by Referee Victor Matheson

View Referee Victor Matheson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 9850
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.