Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 9844

Law 10 - Method of Scoring

Eric of Hopkinton, MA USA asks...

This was a question I saw on Jim Allen's web site, and I can't figure out how his decision could possibly be right. The situation is like this: Team A takes a shot on team B's goal, and the ball is cleared off the line. The AR raises his flag to indicate that a goal was scored in accordance with law 10, but the referee misses it. After this, with no stoppage in play, team B brings the ball to the other side of the field and puts it into team A's goal. After this, but before the kick off, the referee sees the AR's flag who informs him of the original goal. Jim Allen's website claims that the correct decision is to award a goal for team B, not team A. Your thoughts? Thank you.

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

I don't remember seeing this question on Mr. Allen's site. He is the official voice of US Soccer and his answers are to be treated with that full weight of authority. I would have to read the entire question and response. Oftentimes if even a little thing is left out, the answer is confusing.I suspect that since the referee missed the first goal but did see the second, the ball is now out of play and play must be restarted. You should pose the question to Mr. Allen.

Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

The answer is simple once you understand the ball crossed a field boundary and was no longer in play. Once the referee knew that he knows a goal had been scored in accordance with Law 10. The restart of play is a kick off. ..Regards,

Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Victor Matheson

I haven't seen that question either, but a similar situation in the ATR, the USSF instructs that if a ball goes out of play over the touchline, but the referee misses the flag, after a certain amount of time the AR should simply bring the flag down and allow the game to continue as going back to the original place where the ball was out of play is too disruptive. Applying a similar logic, if the referee misses a ball over the goalline (even if it is for a goal) for too long, the AR should bring down the flag as awarding the original goal would be too disruptive. Not sure I agree but it is logically consistent. Note: before awarding the goal to either team, the referee should be sure to consult with the AR who is closest to the parking lot so that the referee has the greatest chance make a getaway in his car before being killed by one team or the other.

Read other questions answered by Referee Victor Matheson

View Referee Victor Matheson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 9844
Read other Q & A regarding Law 10 - Method of Scoring

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.