Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 8714

Law 13 - Free Kicks 12/13/2004

RE: Adult

Philip Booth of Chippenham, England asks...

Does a player need to ask the referee when he wants to take a quick direct free kick

Answer provided by Referee Morley 12/13/2004

He may ask the referee or the referee may ask the player if he wishes to take a quick free kick..I assume you are talking in relation to the recent Arsenal v Chelsea match when Graham Poll allowed Henry to take a quick free kick which resulted in Arsenal's second goal. The referee has to indicate the re-start of play, in this case he clearly asked Henry, pointed to the goal and said "on you go". Gudjonson clearly heard this and can be seen shouting to Czech in goal to get across. Therefore the referee had re-started play and the goal should stand. Had Henry asked for the wall to be 10 yards away then he would have had to wait until the referee paced out the 10 yards, took up his position and then re-started play by the use of his whistle..It is the perogative of the side that is awarded the free kick as to whether they wish to take a free kick quickly or not and as long as the referee re-starts play, either by use of his voice or whistle then they make take it as soon as they wish.

Read other questions answered by Referee Morley

View Referee Morley profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino 12/13/2004

No. In fact, the referee should get out of the way as quickly as possible to allow a quick free kick

Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer 12/15/2004

Once a side is awarded a free kick they may proceede when the ball is stopped on the floor. ..Regards,

Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 8714
Read other Q & A regarding Law 13 - Free Kicks

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.