Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 7074

Law 15 - Throw In

RE: Adult

FLK of , TX USA asks...

Can a one armed player perform a legal throw-in?

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

Yes, as long as the throw-in resembles and keeps the spirit of the two armed throw I have allowed them in the past. I ask the player to demonstrate before the match and judge the technique then. Usually there is no problem and the player respects me asking. ..Regards,

Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Absolutely. SOmetimes better than a 2 armed player, as they are more careful to meet all other requirements of Law 15. This is spelled out in Advice to Referees in section 15.3. Also, the requirement "Uses both Hands" assumes the player HAS 2 hands. If not, she may use whatever she has as long as the rest of Law 15 reuirements are met. While the rest of the world is not BOUND by Advice to Referees, it should be pointed out most coutries abide by it and USSF never allows something IFAB forbids.

Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Sebalja

legally no, but I am sure IFAB would change this if there was a top player having to do this.

Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Sebalja

View Referee Gary Sebalja profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 7074
Read other Q & A regarding Law 15 - Throw In

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.