Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 33040

High School 2/4/2019

RE: Varsity High School

Derek of Cary, IL USA asks...

Consider the following scenario:
Red team commits a cautionable offense while defending in their own 3rd outside the PA. Referee plays advantage, play continues and the ensuing shot is saved by the keeper. Play continues to the other end of the field, where Blue keeper handles the ball legally in his PA.

Would it be permissible for the Referee to stop play at this time, administer the caution, then restart with a IFK for Blue? Or should the Referee wait until the next stoppage to take care of the misconduct?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Derek
Once advantage has materialised with play continuing the referee has to wait until the next stoppage to caution the offending player.
On the mechanics of this it may not be good game management to play advantage on a foul deserving of a caution unless of course the advantage was clear and obvious.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Derek,
Once the referee has decided to play the advantage and has further decided that the advantage was realised and so is not going to call play back for the original offence, they should wait until the ball goes out of play to caution the offender.

Edit: The above is applicable to IFAB games. I see that my colleague Joe Manjone has given the procedure for NFHS games. Since he is an authority on the NFHS Rules, I will defer to his greater knowledge in that regard.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe Manjone

Derek,

Under NFHS high school rules, an advantage call can be made when the calling of a foul would result in taking away a favorable opportunity from the opponent.

Thus, the advantage call in the situation that you describe was appropriate.

However, under high school rules, the foul is to be called as soon as it is obvious that the advantage does not materialize.

In your situation, the advantage did not materialize when the Red keeper saved the ball. At that point, the whistle should have been sounded, the clock stopped, the caution being given, the cautioned player having to leave the field, coaches being told the reason for the caution, a substitute being beckoned in, and a direct kick restart from the point of the infraction.

I hope that you are having a successful season.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe Manjone

View Referee Joe Manjone profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Derek
best to wait for a natural stoppage if you are indeed going to caution a player for misconduct associated with a previous foul where you applied a CLEAR advantage. When permitting advantage, if it be merely a wait & see moment I might remain quiet for a moment to observe how the situation plays out . However, I generally indicate to the culprit, Hey there # so & so you are in the book! loud enough for my ARs & the general public & surrounding players to hear and register what has transpired if there is a card due to be shown at some point. I would ensure the soon to be carded player was not involved in any further attacking or defending play as having him score then show a card for a previous foul is never going to wash out well. As my colleague Joe Manjon is a high school expert in the rules I note he pushed for a DFK immediately upon the save considering the advantage of a non goal to be sufficient. Cautionable fouls of a harsh nature in around the PA especially a DFK or PK if inside the PA best be called if goal is not imminent!
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 33040
Read other Q & A regarding High School

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 33053

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.