Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 33039

High School 2/4/2019

RE: Competitive High School

B. Goktepe of Houston, Texas USA asks...

Can you award penalty kick to the attacking team and sent-off the offending player for DOGSO at the same time? or this is considered as double penalizing?

Please advise.

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

We got the original answer incorrect. NFHS amended its rules in line with FIFA in that if offense occurs inside the penalty area, a penalty kick is awarded and the player is cautioned once therre is a genuine attempt to play the ball
In FIFA a caution is awarded if the foul was an attempt to play the ball. It is still a red card send-off/ejection for handling, holding, pushing, pulling or violent conduct and serious foul challenges. If a free kick offense occurs outside of the penalty area, and denies an obvious goal scoring opportunity , a red card is given
So there is no concern about a double penalty whatsoever. It is like any other red / yellow card offence. The foul is awarded and the player sanctioned according to the offence.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Edit: The answer I gave to this question earlier has been shown to be incorrect. NFHS rules do now specify only a caution when a penalty is awarded for a DOGSO offence where the player attempted to play the ball.

Please refer to the answer to question 33047.

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

under the high school rules you certainly can send off a the player and award the PK for a DFK foul inside the PA. Even FIFA allow this in the cases where the severity of the foul is violent or the ball was never legitimately challenged.

To avoid a DOGSO send off in the these DFKS fouls inside the PA the attempt to win the ball must be at least considered reasonable even if unfair . Here they (being FIFA/IFAB ) consider the chance to score by way of a PK to even out the lost opportunity. I suspect the high school may adopt a similar stance in the future.

PS Oops apparently they already did in their latest rule book so this new option isnow possible! If you as the referee believe the challenge was a reasonable attempt to win the ball then the resulting PK can be considered the scoring opportunity & no need to send off the player with a direct red card for DOGSO! Thanks to Larry for pointing out the rule change confirming what I did think had come to pass! LOL

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 33039
Read other Q & A regarding High School

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 33047

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.