Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32936

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 12/29/2018

RE: Rec Adult

russell of Sydney (home of the worlds best New Year Fireworks), Australia asks...

Keen to hear the panels thoughts on the awarded penalties and VAR crossed out goal in the Juventus v Sampdoria Serie A.


https://theworldgame.sbs.com.au/ronaldo-at-the-double-as-champions-juventus-saved-by-var

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Russell
In my opinion neither penalty awards were deliberate handling. I can see no deliberate movement of the players arm to the ball nor any deliberate action in either situation and both look like accidental contact to me.
In the first one the player has his head down and the ball hits his arm in a natural position and in the second one the ball comes from short distance off a defender again hitting the player in the arm which is at his side.
Both in my opinion were harsh calls and not deliberate handling for me.
But anyway it was the referees calls to make having seen it on VAR. I think because he gave the first one he had to be consistent and give the second one.
As I said in the last answer on deliberate handling it is now one of the most difficult calls in the game. Plus a penalty is such a big decision that the Law needs to be amended significantly here for decisions such as these.
If I was to conduct a straw poll on both I would get divided opinions on both incidents and without VAR I doubt that they would be even considered. I believe that one if the downsides of VAR is second guessing and another senior referee as VAR asking the referee to review. That suggests to the referee that another referee believes that there is deliberate handling.
Perhaps the solution is to make these types of contact on the arm an IDFK as technical handling not the deliberate action of a player stopping the ball with his hand / arm in an unsporting manner which should continue to be a direct free kick.
.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson


HI Russel,
complete utter foolishness . Plain & simple these are gifts of undeserved opportunity in NO way are these worthy of a PK . It seems though because the players, coaches, fans & pundits ALWAYS scream for a call they are being given at the slightest whim. Thus in a bid for consistency they are making almost any or all contact a foul. Look how hard the players work to not foul by trip or blatant pushes or pulls yet being unable to remove their arms while playing becomes a free shot on goal? Bloody bonkers if you ask me!
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32936
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.