Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32897

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 11/28/2018

RE: Rec Adult

Russell of Sydney, Australia asks...

Foul recognition

Could there have been a foul to either team in one of the attacks by Man U against Young Boys in the UCL match.

fast forward to the 4.45 point in the following link.

https://ok.ru/video/1200336079462?fromTime=287https://www.yoursoccerdose.com/2018/11/27/manchester-united-vs-young-boys-highlights/

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson


HI Russell,
I was ok to allow play to just continue there and if you look at the CR positioning it was spot on to decide if there needed to be a call. I do not think it was playing advantage to allow MU to shoot. I was thinking 50/50 as to one backing into the other running into but the minor contact occurs prior to the ball arriving where they both appeared a bit dazed at the proceedings.
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi
If there is a first foul here it is by the Man Utd player. He makes no effort to play the ball and it could be viewed as impeding with contact. The goalkeeper though is not fazed by the attackers position and he makes contact with the opponents before he plays the ball.
I believe the referee probably saw this a six of one and half a dozen of another allowing play to continue. It probably looked like the GK was the more guilty party yet the referee was never going to award a penalty kick in that situation. The goalkeeper complains about the contact by the United player yet in some ways he was the cause if it. The referee clearly saw the incident and decided that the best decision in the circumstances was to allow play to continue



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32897
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 32901

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.