Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32896

Law 16 - The Goal Kick 11/26/2018

RE: Competive Under 19

Salvador Flores of Indianapolis, IN Usa asks...

Q1: law 16: if the goalkeeper kicks the ball directly into its goal before leaving the penalty area is it a goal or corner kick since he or she cant scored directly into his or her own goal from a goal kick?
Q2: law 11: so if a defender kicks the ball and in front of him was a teammate and hits him and goes back to an attacker who was the last player besides the goalkeeper, Can that attacker be in an offside position, since the defender accidentally kicked the ball into in his own teammate and it deflected back to the attacker who was in an offside position?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Salvador
Thanks for the questions.
Q1
As the ball is not in play until it leaves the penalty area the restart is a retake of the goal kick. It would only be a corner kick if the ball left the penalty area and returned without touching another player. Highly unlikely and only likely to happen in very strong wind.
Q2.
This cannot be offside as the ball has been played / touched by the defending team only to the opponent in sn offside position. It can only be offside if the ball is played / touched by a team mate of the PIOP.
What you describe is the same as the ball being kicked by a defender to the attacker who just happens to be in an offside position.




Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Sal,
Question 1 LAW 16 & LAW 13

ANY outgoing defenders' free kick be it a goal kick, DFK or INDFK that is originating within their PA the ball MUST be kicked completely clear of the PA boundary lines to be in play.

If the ball exits over the goal line before it cleared the PA , the free kick will be retaken.

Defenders can be within the PA boundaries at the taking of these free kicks but their opponents must be outside and can not re-enter inside the PA until after the ball exits.
Although players from both teams are not permitted to play the ball until it completely exits the PA!

While wind could be a factor a poorly angled kick towards the corner flag might cause it.

It should be noted if a player was to deliberately just kick it into their goal, not only will the kick be retaken as it was never put into active play, the USB act of delaying the restart/wasting time it is possible a caution show the yellow card is warranted. This holds true for players from either team who illegally enter or try to play the ball before it exits.

Question 2 LAW 11
I will say 100% of the time it will NOT be offside, if the ball was deliberately played/kicked by a defender because the PIOP is free to score as the deflection off the other defender plays no part given the offside restriction was lifted from the opposition by the 1st deliberate kick as the attacking player did not receive the ball from a team mate. .

I do want to point out a small opening for an offside given a special set of circumstances, if the defender's first kick was initially a ///deliberate save ///not just a deliberate kick with clear control and purpose.

Law 11 is clear that there are 3 sets of circumstances that DO NOT reset offside for the opposition
(1)deliberate save nor (2) rebound nor a (3) deflection reset the PIOP restrictions.

Imagine the following .
- offside attacker at the far left post as his team mate shoots from the near right post
- the defender stretches full out incredibly saves a sure goal while deliberately trying to kick the ball out away from goal but only manages to drive the ball out from goal into the back of another defenders leg
-the ball deflects over to the left post and the offside attacker shoots the ball into the goal

Restart ?

NOT a kick off as it would be correct to award an INDFK for offside out as the PIOP restriction was NEVER reset & according to the LOTG has gained an advantage from his position.

REMEMBER this unusual situation is based on that 1st deliberate kick being seen only as a deliberate save (then there is no change to the PIOP original offside status) & the subsequent rebound or deflection off the other 2nd defender as it was not a deliberate kick (then there is no change to the PIOP original offside status ) in essence a double deflection.

If the PIOP had simply watched the ball roll into the goal or missed his attempt to play the ball & did not interfere with any opponent and that ball entered the goal of the double defection given he was not involved in the scoring of the goal it would stand!

There are some far out ways the LOTG can be twisted for example did you know you can have players in an offside position who would be restricted from active play from both teams at the same time??
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Salvador,
Q1 - the ball is only in play at a goal kick when it leaves the penalty area, so if the ball goes directly into the keeper's own goal without ever having been in play, the kick is retaken.

Q2 - in the situation you describe, the attacker may well be in an offside position but has not committed an offside offence. As the law says, ''It is not an offence to be in an offside position.'' There is also the pre-requisite that for an offside offence to be a possibility, the player must be in an offside position at the time of the last touch of the ball by a team mate, before he receives the ball. Since there is no touch by a team mate in your scenario, there can be no offside offence.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32896
Read other Q & A regarding Law 16 - The Goal Kick

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 32902

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.