Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32628

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 8/5/2018

RE: Select Under 19

Keith T of Las Vegas, NV USA asks...

This question is a follow up to question 32623

One aspect of this whole thread that wasnt addressed: if advantage is truly realized after a tactical foul or DOGSO, is it really appropriate to card the offender at the next stoppage? The law doesnt mention attempt but actually stopping a promising attack or actually denying a goal-scoring opportunity"so if advantage was maintained why do we still sanction? In that case the attack remained promising or the goal-scoring opportunity was not denied (albeit attempted). Thanks.

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Kieth ,
YES it IS really appropriate to show the card at the next stoppage as THAT was the exact nature of the foul and cannot be permitted to go without sanction. . The advantage clause is there is to prevent the foul from stopping the attack or scoring opportunity. The fact that there is ADDITIONAL misconduct of a cautionable or even sendoff event MUST in law be issued prior to ANY restart of play. WE are not restarting with the old foul we are simply showing the card to remind the culprit the NATURE of that foul earlier was unacceptable. Remember DOGSO actions that FAIL are not red cards if a goal results off an advantage but they are still punished as acts of USB. A RECKLESS tackle where we play advantage, we do not come back for the foul but the MISCONDUCT of that type of foul is a SEPERATE matter . If it is only a careless foul there would be no further sanctions after a realized advantage.
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Keith
The Law tells us that there are times when a player must be caution which includes the following clause which states and I quote ** commits a foul which interferes with or stops a promising attack except where the referee awards a penalty kick for an offence which was an attempt to play the ball**
So in this instance the foul ITOOTR interfered with a promising attack.
The decision though of determining interference in a promising attack is left to the individual referee.
So we have all been there in that we have not cautioned on advantage for a variety of reasons including where we opined the foul had no significant impact on play.
In our game at the weekend I was an AR and a defender tried to pull back an attacker, he let go, the attacker raced on with the ball and dragged the shot wide of the post. The CR decided not to caution and he felt that the foul did not merit a card. I was somewhat expecting a card yet it was his decision.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Keith,
Yes it is appropriate to caution a player for an act of unsporting behaviour, even when the advantage has been played. The fact that the referee allowed play to go on to see if the team that was offended against could benefit from the advantage, does not negate the unsporting behaviour that occurred.

The idea that the referee can go back and caution a player even after playing the advantage is pretty much explicitly stated in the following wording:

''If the referee plays the advantage for an offence for which a caution / send off would have been issued had play been stopped, this caution / send off must be issued when the ball is next out of play ...''



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32628
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.