Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32536

Law 1- The Field 6/23/2018

RE: Adult

paul of ocala, FL US asks...

What determines the location of a foul if it occurs at the edge of the penalty box. If a defender is inside the box but the ball and attacker are outside and the defender reaches across the line and pulls the attacker down, is that a PK? Reversing the situation and the defender is trailing the play and the ball alone, or the ball and attacker are inside the box when the defender reaches from outside the box to pull down the attacker. Or more simply is the location of the ball critical, or the location of the fouled player or the fouling player determinate?

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Paul,
The answer is, in a way, 'none of the above' - it is not the location of the ball, or of either player, that matters. Rather it is the location of the contact between the two players. Wherever that contact took place, determines the outcome. If the point of contact is inside the penalty area (bearing in mind that on the line counts as being inside the penalty area) then a penalty is awarded. If the point where the actual contact occurred was outside the penalty area, it would be a free kick from that location.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Paul
there are what we call contact fouls like a trip or kick where the point of contact between the players is the foul location. The fact the player might stumble or fall into the PA DOES NOT make it a PK if the reason he lost his balance was the foul outside was the sole & only cause of the fall .

Mind you he could be recovering from a trip but some additional contact forces him down could be looked upon as advantage as a 2nd foul occurring. This would be a PK a it is more favourable than the DFK from outside!

Then there is a pulling or holding or charging type foul which can be a progressive foul that moves with the flow of play and advantage is applied to the fact the contact point actually continue over time & distance and be applied in the PA area as a PK rather than a DFK outside where the initial contact foul may have started.

There can be a clutch and let go or a sharp stab and shove with no follow through as well and a clear outside the PA DFK foul. YET. Nothing is ever 100% or always looked at in the same light. A shove like a push has a contact point initially but it can be maintained, same as a grab of the jersey or pull back over the arm in there is not just that first contact point but it becomes a continuous contact point as it is maintained .


The ball is only a consideration if the foul is deliberate handling, to be a foul the ball must be inside the PA boundary lines when it is contacted by the arm for a PK to be awarded. Given a ball is about 12 inches wide and a boundary line is 5 inches A player handling the ball on the outside of the portion of the ball not overhanging the boundary line is STILL guilty of handing the ball inside the PA. That seems harsh but the LOTG dictate the ball is within the PA if any portion is in contact or overhangs the boundary line .

Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Paul
It is the location of the contact on the foul that determines the restart.
So if an attacker is tripped it is the location of the contact on the trip that determines the location of the restart. Trip contact outside the penalty area is a direct free kick whereas the same contract on the penalty area line and inside results in a penalty kick.
Interesting one is holding in that it can be a continuous foul. So if holding starts outside the oenalty area and continues inside it is a oenalty kick.
The line is part of the penalty area so foul contact on the line is determined to be inside the area.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32536
Read other Q & A regarding Law 1- The Field

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.