Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32504

Law 4 - The Players Equipment 6/11/2018

RE: competitive Adult

colin abel of georgetown, guyana asks...

what decision should be taken if an attacker loses his boot while shooting towards the goal which results in another player scoring a goal?? NB: both the boot and the ball went in the same direction however the boot did not hit the keeper.

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson


HI Colin,
it happens, as long as the shoe did not interfere with play there is no reason to disallow the goal. The player without the shoe is expected to put it back on ASAP and COULD be held accountable for PIADM if he continued to challenge!
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Colin
The Laws allow for play to continue so the goal is good.
It would only become a technical offence if the flying boot interfered with an opponent who had to avoid it or the boot hit an opponent or the player continued to dribble with the ball with only one boot which would be playing in a dangerous manner. In those instances play would be stopped and the restart would be an IDFK for playing in a dangerous manner.
To quote the relevant section of the Laws
** A player whose footwear or shinguard is lost accidentally must replace it as soon as possible and no later than when the ball next goes out of play; if before doing so the player plays the ball and/or scores a goal, the goal is awarded. **



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Colin,
Based on your description of the scenario, the decision should be to award the goal. If a player loses their footwear (or shinguard) in the 'normal' course of play, as the part of the law quoted by ref McHugh indicates, play is allowed to continue. The referee does not need to take any action unless the player continues to play without the equipment and comes into close proximity with an opponent who is then prevented from playing the ball for fear of injury, or it causes a problem for an opponent, or if the player does not replace it before the ball next goes out of play.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32504
Read other Q & A regarding Law 4 - The Players Equipment

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.