Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32283

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 3/5/2018

RE: Barca fan Under 15

Rupert Handley of Perth, Western Australia Australia asks...

Lets just say that, for whatever reason, you take a dive in your own penalty box. Would it be a penalty or an indirect freekick?

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Rupert,
If a player were to commit an act of simulation in their own penalty area it need not necessarily lead to a kick of any sort. In such a scenario the referee could choose to let play continue (if the simulation did not really affect play or if there were an advantage to the opponents, for example) and caution the player at the next stoppage in play. If the referee were to stop play to issue the caution, play would restart with an indirect free kick.

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi Rupert,

Taking a dive isn't a foul. Rather, there's a clause in the law which says that when play is stopped to issue a card for a reason that isn't otherwise listed as a FK, then play restarts with an indirect free kick. Diving falls into that category, so the restart is always an indirect free kick and a card must be issued.

Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Rupert
Diving or to give the actions its proper title is simulation. Simulation is punished by a caution for unsporting behaviour and as the game has been stopped to issue a yellow card the restart is an indirect free kick from where the offence took place.
Simulation is committed mainly by attackers who try to deceive referees into awarding penalty kicks or attacking free kicks in favourable area. It is not confined to that yet rarely do we see defenders committing the offence.
An IDFK can be awarded inside the oenalty area to the attacking team should a defender be cautioned for the offence.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32283
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.