Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32265

Law 11 - Offside 3/1/2018

RE: Rec Under 14

MARV of Bowmanville, Ontario Canada asks...

Regarding Offside and the terms Save and Played. The term Save is fairly straightforward.

Played is defined as 'Action by a player which makes contact with the ball'.

In every 'non-save' situation where the defender makes contact with the ball does this automatically negate the offside offence?

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Marv,
NO
because in a SAVE situation you do not require to differentiate if the save was a deliberate action or an accidental instinctive one be it a deflection or rebound as none of these reset the opposition offside restrictions already in place .

In a NON save situation only a DELIBERATE action can reset the offside, a deflection or rebound, which can incur player/ball contact will not reset offside!
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Marv,
Every 'non-save' contact with the ball by a defender does not negate offside. As ref Dawson says, a deflection or rebound leaves offside as a possibility.

The law says that a player commits an offside offence if they become involved in active play after the ball has:

''rebounded or been deflected off [...] an opponent''



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Marv
Only deliberate plays excluding saves reset offside. So a deflection or a rebound does not change offside should the PIOP interfere with play or an opponent.
It is left to the judgement of a referee as to what constitutes a save, a rebound or a deflection.
There will be easy ones to opine on the subject and then grey ones which are a subjective matter if opinion. First video in the attached link is an example. I had one at weekend where a defender tried to stop the ball going to a PIOP. He tried to head it and it glanced off his head. I took it as a deliberate play and a reset. Those that do not know Law 11 disagreed vehemently that it was a deflection.
Here is my associations advice on the matter
http://www.law-11.com/delib-play--deflection



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32265
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.