Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32257

Law 11 - Offside 2/23/2018

RE: Competitive Adult

Tj of Sydney, Nsw Australia asks...

if a goalkeeper throws the ball from his penalty are is it classed as a kick in regards to offside. So if the keeper has a long throw and the attacker stands in an offside position and the keeper throws it and hits him on the chest with no other player touching the ball is that offside. Ive tried to find the ruling but have been unable to find this specific scenario. The only things I can find are punts are offside throw ins are not.

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

It can be a pretty long throw by the goalkeeper. Anyway it is there is Law 11. If one thinks goalkeeper as team mate and a throw is played in the wording then the line ** Offside offence
A player in an offside position at the moment the ball is played or touched by a team-mate is only penalised on becoming involved in active play..** makes it clear.
So very simply a throw by the goalkeeper is a play by a team mate like a kick such as punt, pass, header etc.
A player in an offside position cannot be offside from a goal kick, throw in or a corner kick or from a ball deliberately played by an opponent which includes the goalkeeper (with the exception of a save).

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi TJ,
There is nothing in the Offside Law about the ball needing to be kicked for offside to be a possibility. In terms of what needs to happen it simply says it requires that ''the ball is played or touched by a team-mate.''

If a keeper throws the ball, it means it was touched by a team mate. Assuming the other criteria are met, it would be an offside offence.

I'm not sure where you're getting your information about the Offside Law but in the Laws of the Game while it does say you can't be offside from a throw-in (or a goal kick or corner kick) it doesn't mention either kicks or punts.

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32257
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.