Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32221

Law 11 - Offside 2/8/2018

RE: Adult

Muhammad Rizwan Khan of Abbottabad, KPK Pakistan asks...


I just want to confirm that if a attacker kicks the ball towards his teammate who is not in offside position but it deflects with the defender but at that time he's in offside position. Which position of his player accounts. Before deflection when ball was kick or when it was deflected? and other question if same happened but defection is made with his own player then what will be situation?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Muhammad
The moment the ball is played or touched by the players (in an offside position) team mate NOT when it is touched by the defender us the defining moment. The touch by the defender is irrelevant as there is no offside to be considered as the player was in an onside position when it was last played / touched by a team mate.
Point 2 Law 11 refers
* A player in an offside position at the moment the ball is played or touched by a team-mate is only penalised on becoming involved in active play by......*

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Muhammad,
Offside position is judged at the moment the ball is touched by a team mate. Where they are when the ball deflects from an opponent is not relevant to the judgement of offside position.

If the ball deflects off his own player, that is a touch by a team mate, so offside position would be re-assessed at that moment.

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32221
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.