Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32217

Law 11 - Offside 2/6/2018

RE: Professional

Mike of Liverpool, England asks...

Hi, please could someone explain where to find the guidance relating to the offside decision in the Liverpool v Tottenham match on Sunday where the player was in an offside position and received the ball after a defender had attempted to clear the ball. The referee did not award offside because the defender had played the ball and subsequently gave a penalty when Harry Kane was fouled by the goalkeeper.


Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Mike
Thanks for the question. Law 11 can be viewed here
The relevant section of Law 11 states and I quote ** A player in an offside position receiving the ball from an opponent who deliberately plays the ball (except from a deliberate save by any opponent) is not considered to have gained an advantage. **
In the Liverpool scenario Lovren made a deliberate play of the ball, miskicked it and by doing so reset the offside in which case Kane could not have gained an advantage. Had it been a deflection it would have been offside for gaining an advantage by being in an offside position.
In the subsequent media furore many felt that Kane should not have benefitted from his position. Period. That is not what Law 11 tells us which is clear on the matter. The game needs to move on and to understand that the law makers wish to limit the type and amount of offside in games and to encourage attacking play. Law 11 is not an escape clause for poor execution of a deliberate play. Had Lovren cleared the ball as he intended to then the matter would not have arisen.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32217
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.