Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32211

Law 15 - The Throw In 2/4/2018

RE: Select Under 13

Mauricio of Redmond, WA United States asks...

Question regarding advantage.

Can or should advantage be applied if an infringement is committed during the restart? Example, black team has a throw in and during the throw the player jumps. The ball however goes to a white team player that can now turn an charge towards the goal. Should advantage be allowed for an incorrect restart such as this specific scenario, i.e., allow the white team player to continue play towards the goal?
I did not allow advantage because the ball was not legally put back in play. Wondering if I made the correct call.

Thanks,

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Mauricio,
You were correct in not allowing the advantage. This was actually covered in a FIFA Q&A in 2006 as follows:

''After an incorrectly taken throw-in, the ball goes directly to an opponent. Is play allowed to continue by applying the advantage clause?
No. A player of the opposing team retakes the throw-in.''



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Mauricio,
you are correct, you can not apply advantage if the ball is not correctly or legally put into play. In your scenario you award the throw into the other team!

A drop ball in the blue PA that does not hit the ground before a blue player kicks it into a red player and the ball deflects into the blue goal.
You RETAKE! no Goal

All the teams players are gathered around the blue PA as red is set to take a PK in the dying seconds for some unearthly reason the PK kicker back heels the ball catching everyone by surprise except 1 blue player who races down to the red goal and scores on a breakaway.
You award blue an INDFK! No goal!

Red is attacking, blue slides and trips red player who stumbles and falls but quickly picks himself up and races on to continue to attack. The rolling ball barely but clearly exits into touch outside the playing field, just a smidge of green the AR flags the ball is out of play but as CR you think it was barely out of play and if not for the trip the red player would have scored anyway.
You award the DFK for the trip to red as the ball is out of play thus there was NO advantage to consider! NO GOAL!
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Mauricio
Advantage cannot be played on an incorrect restart. So in the case of an incorrectly taken throw in the thrown in has to be turned over and taken by the opponents.
So in your example the correct call was made.
Now that is not to say that a decision can be seen as doubtful and trifling. That is totally different from playing advantage. For example did the player have his foot off the ground or not? Was the ball fully behind the players head? If the referee was doubtful he can just let play continue. If it is patently clear that there is a infringement then advantage cannot be played at the restart and the TI is turned over.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32211
Read other Q & A regarding Law 15 - The Throw In

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.