Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32208

Law 11 - Offside 2/1/2018

RE: High School

Greg Kall of Hillsborough, California United States of America asks...

A question regarding Offside:
Why does the "gaining an advantage" element not take into account deflection from the corner flag?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Greg
It does not have to as the ball is still in play and if the ball hits a corner flag, staying in play which is then played by a player in an offside position then offside must be called when the player interferes with play or an opponent.
It is a very unusual event and an outlier one that the rules choses to deal with as a regular offside.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe Manjone


In high school play, a deflection from a corner flag is similar to a deflection from a referee. These deflections are considered the same as if the ball was hitting the ground, and the non-deflection offside rules would be in force.

There is no corner flag deflection rule because, in my opinion, any deflection is very slight and rarely changes the position of an offside attacker. As a high school rules committee member for 14 years, I never encountered a rules proposal that mentioned deflection from the corner flags.

If you feel that this should be a rule, I recommend that you propose this rule to the NFHS.

Also, I hope that you have a very successful officiating year.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe Manjone

View Referee Joe Manjone profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32208
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 32210

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.