Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32199

Law 11 - Offside 1/28/2018

RE: Competitive Under 16

Paul Wuerslin of Charlotte, NC USA asks...

This question is a follow up to question 32122

Player A1 is in an Offside Position when Player A2 attempts to play to ball through Opposition Player B1's legs. Player B1 attempts to block the ball, but only partially deflects the ball and the ball still makes its way to Player A1 who was in the Offside Position. The AR signaled the Offside, and I let it stand because in my mind it was merely a deflection by Player B1. Of course, Player A2 contents that Player B1 played the ball so that Player A1 should not be Offside. Do you agree with the call?

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson


HI Paul,
I agree with your call because you are the referee who observed the incident and based a decision on what you saw, arrived at by what you currently know of the LOTG. What players think is NOT part of the equation. A deflection or rebound is NOT a reset. Even though a defender will react to the proximity of a nearby ball it does not mean they had sufficient time, space, or awareness to make a purposeful deliberate play based on use of skillful motor functions it could be classified as an instinctive reaction if the contact results in a deflection or rebound.
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Paul,
The way you describe it, your call was correct. According to the wording of Law 11, a player in an offside position when the ball is last touched by a team mate can be guilty of an offside offence by:

''gaining an advantage by playing the ball or interfering with an opponent when it has:
[...] been deflected off [...] an opponent''



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Paul
The decision rests on whether the contact by B1 was a deflection or a deliberate play. From the description I would say that it was a deflection and therefore not a reset which makes it offside. Attackers will always look for the most beneficial outcome by suggesting a deliberate play.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32199
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.