Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32156

League Specific 1/10/2018

RE: Adult

Mark Welsby of Liverpool , Merseyside United Kingdom asks...

Can a player be given a retrospective red card for an incident in a game which the referee saw and dealt with and took no action

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Mark
Yes that is entirely possible particularly when new information comes to hand such as video replay showing something not previously seen or heard by the referee.
Case in point will be the Firmino / Holgate incident which was *dealt with* at the time by Referee Bobby Madley without sanction being taken. Something was said which were not fully understood at the time as it was in Portuguese. As I said in respect of a question on this incident perhaps the referee did not *deal with it* through the issue of cards as that then could make it more of a challenge to take retrospective action which the FA can now do in that particular case.
The incident was reported by the referee and it is under investigation so Yes a retrospective sanction can be issued by the FA.
This is based on the statement that *The FA is able to consider retrospective action in the two following situations, in addition to those already within the existing charging policy:
# firstly, for acts of violent conduct that occur secondarily to a challenge for the ball;
# and secondly, in off-the-ball incidents where one or more match official did see the players coming together, but the match officials' view was such that none of them had the opportunity to make a decision on an act of misconduct that took place within that coming together.**
If a decision was made such as a yellow card then unless new evidence or a separate matter is raised it cannot be upgraded to a red card.
Also that sanction has been extended to cover simulation or diving. So while the referee may not have taken action after seeing an incident that does not prevent the FA for issuing a two game ban for diving retrospectively.





Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson


Hi Mark,
there is precedence now with video showing otherwise unknown or unseen facts of play the association can choose to sanction such behaviour. In this latest Holgate Firmino incident which was witnessed by the referee who saw SOMETHINGS and overheard SOMETHINGS but chose no on field sanctions has proven to be very puzzling to many! Many expect the association will hand down something, be it a sanction to one or both players or a private slap on the wrist of the officials for not handling it better. They do not want to override referee decisions but they do want a better understanding of why incidents that create such a furore are not handled better and to punish those who think they slyly got away with something hidden from the officials line of sight or hearing !
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Mark,
Yes, the FA can take retrospective action for an incident that was seen by the match officials, although if you are referring to the Holgate-Firmino incident you could say that it was not really 'dealt with,' at least not in terms of cards being issued.

Ref McHugh has given the official FA position and I should point out that this policy has been in place for some time now, since the start of the 2013-14 season. The rules were clarified and tightened up in the wake of a highly controversial incident in March 2013 involving a horrific challenge by Wigan's Callum McManaman on Newcastle's Massadio Haidara after the referee admitted seeing it but said he did not get a good view of the full severity of the challenge.

Following this incident, the FA set up an internal review and as a result, introduced more flexible retrospective rules to avoid a repeat.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32156
Read other Q & A regarding League Specific

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.