Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32065

Law 11 - Offside 11/29/2017

RE: Adult

Muhammad Rizwan Khan of Abbottabad, KPK P asks...

Sir, If a attacker player while chasing the ball cross the goal line and kick the ball with his heel back into the field and in the same moment the defender came and gets the ball and passes it to his goalkeeper. I mean the attacker cant control himself and cross the goal-line and pushed back the ball into the grounds and defender collect it and passes through his goalkeeper but in the mean time attacker enter into ground and gets the ball between goalkeeper and defender ball and scored.. is it a offside.. ?

1. Im confusing that it not an offside because ball was passes through opponent.

2. Im confusing that he is offside as he came out of the goal line?

what you say..

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Muhammad
The question the referee has to ask is whether the attacker was offside when he plays the ball back with his heel. If the attacker was not called offside at that touch then play continues and then it is not possible for him to be offside once the opponents play the ball.
If it was not offside at the first touch by the attacker on the goal line then it is simply an interception as described. A player CANNOT be offside from a deliberate play by an opponent no matter his position on the field of play.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Muhammad,
It depends whether the player who back-heeled the ball was in an offside position when the ball was last touched by a team mate. There is nothing in the events that you describe, that would constitute an offside offence.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32065
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.