Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32061

Law 14 - The Penalty kick 11/27/2017

RE: Adult

Muhammad Rizwan of Abbottabad, Abbottabad Pakistan asks...

During a match while the 11th penalty kick was in progress and the penalty taker done illegal feinting and referee cautioned him surprisingly he has already cautioned during the match and then it would be red card and he had to be sent off .. the question is who will take the penalty kick?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Muhammad
First off the kick is recorded as a miss and there is no retake. It is also sudden death so if the other team has taken its kick and scored the game ends on the sending off. As it was the teams last kicker in the first series of kicks from the penalty mark another series of kicks begins with any player from the remaining 10 players taking the next kick should that be required. The order of the second series of kicks can change at the discretion of the teams.
The opponents get to reduce by one player so if their last kicker had not already taken a kick he can be removed or another player of their choice. If the 11th kicker is not chosen to be removed he has to take a kick before another team mate can take a second kick. If the 11th kicker is chosen to be removed the opponents have discretion to chose the next kicker from the remaining 10 in its 2nd series also. Under of the old law which has been changed the opponents could not reduce to equate after kicks had begun which was patently unfair. That has been all changed under the 2016 amendments.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Muhammad,
I'm not 100% sure but I think your question seems to imply that the kick will be retaken. If this is what you meant then I should point out that this is not so. Law 10, in the section on 'Kicks from the Penalty Mark' states:

''If the kicker is penalised for an offence committed after the referee has signalled for the kick to be taken, that kick is recorded as missed and the kicker is cautioned''

So the answer, if your question means what I think it does, is that no-one (re)-takes the penalty, we just move on to the next one.

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32061
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - The Penalty kick

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.