Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32042

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 11/20/2017

RE: Adult

Muhammad Rizwan of Abbottabad, Abbottabad Pakistan asks...

R/Sir,
During a Match here when a goalkeeper caught the ball in his hand and just keep it on the ground to fixing his boot lace without informing a referee and when opponent came near to him he just picked the ball up again in his hands.. what you say I think its IDFK? what should goalkeeper do to fix his lace..?

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi Muhammad,
That would be an indirect free kick. By placing the ball at his feet he has released the ball and he cannot handle it again.
If the keeper needs to fix his laces he should let the referee know at the next opportunity and the ref can hold up play while a defender helps the keeper (keeper fixing their laces takes more time due to gloves).



Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Muhammad
The goalkeeper has released the ball from his possession so he cannot pick the ball up again without committing a technical offence punished by an IDFK. It is a schoolboy error.
I once had a situation in an U11 game where a young goalkeeper with the ball in hand placed it at his foot while he pulled up his sock. There were some appeals for an offence which I waved them away. I spoke to the player some time later. He was only filling in as GK that day and it was an innocent action that did not need to be punished.
If a goalkeeper needs to tie his laces he should wait until the ball is out of play and request permission to correct his equipment from the referee which should be given. The game cannot start without a GK on both sides so leaving the field to correct equipment is not an option. With gloves etc it is best to gave the GK a few seconds to sort it.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32042
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.