Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 32016

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 11/12/2017

RE: DA Academy Under 15

Kai Cavan of Vail, CO United States asks...

One of my players suffered a hit to the head and had to exit the field temporarily to be examined by the trainer. He then came back in the field without telling the center ref. When the CR noticed he called a direct kick. The ball was in our possession. Should he have called a direct kick? How was a direct free kick at the top of the 18 justified for a player entering the field following a temporary exiting?

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi Kai,
The referee should have cautioned the player (yellow card) and awarded an Indirect Free Kick, not a Direct Free Kick. Unless the player did actually interfere with play, then it's a DFK.

Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Kai,
The law says that if a player enters the field of play without the referee's permission, the referee stops play only if the player interferes with play. The player is cautioned. The restart depends on whether the player interfered with play or not. The law says that:

''If the referee stops play, it must be restarted:

- with a direct free kick from the position of the interference
- with an indirect free kick from the position of the ball when play was stopped if there was no interference.''

So if your player interfered with play, a direct free kick is the correct decision. If he did not, it should have been an indirect free kick.

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Kai
One of the latest changes to the Laws of the Game and outlined by Referee Grove.
Now over the years players returning without the referees permission has caused many problems for the game. I have seen players sent off for this offence on a second caution. Players when they leave the field of play with permission for whatever reason needs to ask permission to return. If the player comes back on without permission it is a caution. Sometimes a referee might give a player a warning perhaps in a situation of misunderstanding with no interference.
If the player interferes with play it is a direct free kick or penalty kick or an IDFK if play is stopped without interference.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32016
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 32021

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.