Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31999

High School 11/6/2017

RE: High School

Tony of Sandwich, MA USA asks...

What is the NFHS ruling of what the correct retart is when a goalkeeper has possession of the ball and play stops due to an injury?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Tony
As the goalkeeper has clear possession of the ball the restart is an indirect free kick to the goalkeepers team at the location of the goalkeeper possession.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe Manjone


Go to NFHS Rule 13-2-3b on page 56 of the NFHS Rules book for the answer that Ref McHugh provides. It states:

The following indirect free kick is taken from where the ball was when the referee stopped play for temporary suspension of play for an injury.

I hope that you have had a successful high school season.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe Manjone

View Referee Joe Manjone profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Tony,
As already stated by my colleagues, the restart would be an IFK to the goalkeeper's team. In addition to the section quoted by ref Manjone, Rule 9 Section 3 also applies:

''In case of a temporary suspension due to an injury [...], if one team is clearly in possession of the ball, the game shall be restarted by an indirect free kick by the team in possession of the ball at the point where the ball was when play was suspended ..''

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31999
Read other Q & A regarding High School

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.