Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31991

Law 15 - The Throw In 11/5/2017

RE: Youth Rec League 4-14 yrs.old Under 18

Dan Betts of Melbourne, FL Brevard asks...

If on a throw-in the ball lands out of bounds again, with never being touched, do they get to try again, or should it be awarded to the other team where the original throw was made?

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Dan,
Assuming the throw in was taken according to the correct procedure, the law says that:

''If the ball touches the ground before entering, the throw-in is retaken by the same team from the same position.''

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Dan
If a throw in does not enter the field of play the throw in is retaken by the same team from the same position.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Dan,
if the throw in was done correctly per the procedure listed in the LOTG in terms of form ( hands over the head, proper foot position, release etc..) and placement (taken from the correct spot) and for some inexplicable reason the ball never manages to make contact with the 5 inch wall of water, I refer to the touchline extending up into the sky. If that ball never got even a tiny bit wet , never broke that 5 inch boundary plane surrounding the field before the ball hit the ground it is permissible to retake, HOWEVER, if the throw in was taken incorrectly from the wrong spot or bad form it is a loss of possession and turned over to the opposition.

In USA high school it is automatically a loss of possession and frankly I think it should be here as well .I have some sympathy for the U littles in learning a retake helps instil correct form but none at all for competitive or adult play. .

I have seen ARs flag incorrectly balls that land well outside the touchline not taking into account the ball actually started on the touchline to begin the throw in. If you are standing on the touchline watching the thrower deliver a ball look at the trajectory of that ball starting out along the line if it swerves further out or enters then blown back across it WAS in if but for brief moment and you would signal for the throw in for the opposition.


Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31991
Read other Q & A regarding Law 15 - The Throw In

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.