Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31972

Law 13 - Free Kicks 11/1/2017

RE: Rec Under 10

Alex C of LF, NJ USA asks...

We had a similar issue against our team. Our GK touched an indirect kick and it went it. Should our goalie have simply ignored it and have not tried made a play at it and let it go in directly which would have resulted in a goal kick?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Alex
Yes had the goalkeeper not touched the free kick as it entered the goal the restart would have been a goal kick.
Now that is very difficult to do even at older ages so I would not fault an U10 player for trying to save a shot including indirect ones.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Alex,
It is true that if your keeper had ignored this indirect free kick as it sailed past and into the net, the result would have been a goal kick.

However it would take great presence of mind, allied to in-depth knowledge of the laws, for a goalkeeper to deliberately leave a goal-bound shot alone and let it enter the net. I think it's something that even an adult player would probably struggle with so is hardly surprising that a U10 player would not know to do this.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson


Hi Alex,
had a similar experience only on a long throw in on a narrow field sailed in top corner off my keeper's finger tips. She knew as she had taken the referee course but instinct she reacted putting up the hands thus they received a goal instead of us receiving a goal kick . You can not score on the throw in direct to goal. Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31972
Read other Q & A regarding Law 13 - Free Kicks

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.