Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31936

Law 15 - The Throw In 10/24/2017

RE: Rec Under 14

Trent Futrell of Knoxville, tn usa asks...

Was reffing a game and team A had a throw in. The ball was released but never came in bounds. I called a throw in for the team B. Was this the correct call?

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Trent
just be 101% sure if you want a do over at youth not he worst teaching moment but be absolutely sure so much as a sliver of the curved edge makes touchline overlap we are in play.
In USA high school it is a loss of possession under FIFA if the throw in was done correctly (right spot, correct procedure) it would be retaken, however, if the throw in was taken incorrectly it would be a loss of possession.
Keep in mind that the touchline is an imaginary 5 inch wall of water if at any time during the correct the delivery of ball any part of the ball could have got wet the ball was IN play and if it then continued out it is throw-in for the other team where it left he FOP after it entered!

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Trent,
You don't say under which code this game was played. If it was played under the IFAB's Laws of the Game then assuming the throw-in mechanics were properly carried out, the correct call is to have the throw retaken by the same team. The laws state:

''If the ball touches the ground before entering, the throw-in is retaken by the same team from the same position.''

Under NFHS rules in the same circumstances, the throw would revert to the opposition.

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Trent
My colleagues have quoted the relevant section of Law 15.
If I am 110% certain the ball did not touch the plane of the line and did not come into play then it is a retake. If I am uncertain and on my own without neutral assistants it is a turn over to the opponents. I can assure you that on the next throw in by that player it will not be as tight to the line as the one that is turned over.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31936
Read other Q & A regarding Law 15 - The Throw In

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.