Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31934

Kicks From The Penalty mark 10/24/2017

RE: Competive Adult

Phil Mcintyre of Llanelli , Carmarthen UK asks...

In a penalty shootout a kick is taken hits the crossbar rebounds to the penalty mark then spins back to the goal and into the net.
The referee gives a goal. Surely the referee was wrong as soon as the ball hits the crossbar that penalty was missed.

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Phil ,
unfortunately for that keeper a bit of bad luck.

The PK is NOT over until the ball's momentum is dead or out of play or the keeper has 100% controlled possession.

ANY rebound off the crossbar, goalposts, keeper and ground where the ball is not yet contained by the keeper should that ball COMPLETELY cross the goal line under the crossbar between the posts as result of the power imparted by the kick we have a legal goal check out these videos of a good goal allowed by an inattentive keeper who thought a you did.
Cheers



https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ab3WF_e-J8M

https://www.cbssports.com/soccer/news/a-penalty-kick-hit-the-post-and-missed-until-it-didnt-because-sports-are-crazy/

Satri then missed their next penalty, as Bangkok won 20-19 in the shootout. You can't make this stuff up.
It ain't over till it's over, kids lol

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VBDGmUEcHaw






Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Phil
I am surprised how many get this wrong. I have heard of rebounds off the post / crossbar then off the goalkeeper also being incorrectly disallowed because the ball comes back towards the kicker.
Law 14 now states and I quote ** The penalty kick is completed when the ball stops moving, goes out of play or the referee stops play for any offence.** Direction of the ball, what it hits, time taken has nothing to do with the outcome. The ball can hit any combination of the frame of the goal, ground, goalkeeper and as long as the ball makes it over the goal line from the original momentum of the kick the goal is good
Now the current law wording as quoted has had many iteractions over the years since it was first introduced in the Laws as a Decision after we had this clarification going back to the World Cup of 1986 in a game between Brazil and France that went to KFTPM.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bEYJMq-6iS4&t=5m36s
At 5.36 in the video #16 France - Bruno Bellone takes the penalty and it hits the post and rebounds off the goalkeeper. The referee correctly awards the goal. This did cause a fuss at the time and afterwards by a miffed Brazil as you can see Brazil players questioning the referee yet IFAB ruled that the referee was 100% correct and improved the Law 14 wording so that there could be no ambiguity. The BBC commentary team at the time of John Motson and the late Jimmy Hill did not help the viewing public. The commentator John Motson got it correct saying it was a goal while Jimmy Hill, highly respected in the game and having a good knowledge of the Laws, was less convincing talking about a miss and having to go into the goal directly. Such comments start myths as no one bothers to follow up when the correct decision is actually confirmed.
So the referee in the Italian League penalty kick in the first video in Referee Dawsons answer was 100% correct and that was confirmed by UEFA. The Italian Referee Association had to amend its advice booklet as it was somewhat ambiguous which led to the correct decision by the referee being overturned by the League on appeal by the losing team and then the original correct goal decision was reinstated when challenged further to UEFA. The goal was good.




Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

Surely the referee was right!

Law 14 has been clarified to state this explicitly: 'The penalty kick is completed when the ball stops moving, goes out of play or the referee stops play for any infringement of the Laws.'

That was always the case, but now it's even more abundantly clear.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31934
Read other Q & A regarding Kicks From The Penalty mark

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.