Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31906

Law 11 - Offside 10/15/2017

RE: Travel club Under 14

Mel Fros of Urbana, IL USA asks...

Team A, with ball,has all 10 players in the attacking half (team B's defending half).Team B wins possession in its own half and makes a quick counter-attacking forward pass to player B1, who is stationed in the attacking half (team A's defending half) at the moment the ball is touched by a team mate from team B.

Off-side? I think not. By choosing to place all but team A's goal keeper in the attacking half, an off-side situation for team B does not exist at the moment the ball is touched by team B.

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Mel
It is offside. The only way B1 can stay in an onside position is by coming back into his own half and staying there before crossing the half way line until the ball is played. It makes no difference that Team A has chosen to move all its players into the opponents half. The offside line in that scenario becomes the half way line and offside still applies.
Now a number of years ago there was a myth circulating in the US that offside did not apply in such situations where a team had only none or only one player (thegoalkeeper) in its own half. Absolutely a myth and not the case. Offside applies at all time except at a goal kick, throw in and corner kick.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Mel,
The offside law says that a player is in an offside position if they are in the opponent's half and closer to the opponent's goal line than the ball and the second last opponent. In the scenario you describe those conditions are met. So if B1 becomes involved in active play an offside offence has been committed.

I have also come across the myth that ref McHugh refers to, in fact I think it has been included in questions on this site before although I have no idea how it may have arisen.

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Mel,
you best think YES for thinking not is incorrect.

TWO opponents closer to the opposing goal line or even or else the player must be within his OWN half when the ball is kicked/touched/played by any of his 10 teammates OR in behind the ball when a non PIOP teammates plays/touches the ball

Heck the keeper can be inside the opposition half so NO players are defending in their half if a member of the other team is INSIDE that empty half and receives a ball last touched by his own team offside criteria applies inside the opposition half. .

He is allowed to run into the opposition half to chase a ball and be the first to it as an ONSIDE player
or can benefit if an opposition member was to inadvertently last play the ball back into their half as LONG as it was not deflected after a team mate last touch

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31906
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 31912

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.