Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31887

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 10/10/2017

RE: Under 17

Jordan Jackson of Sydney, NSW Australia asks...

Player or keeper chucks a shin guard at another player, what is the result?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Jordan
Throwing an object such as a boot, shin guard, ball at an opponents with excessive force is violent conduct and the player is sent off and shown a red card.
There may be times when it is perhaps a display of frustration or a gesture of contempt. If the referee considers that action to be reckless without excessive force then it is a caution for unsporting behaviour.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Jordan ,
chucking anything even a dirt clod can wind up as VC and get you sent off, it could be downgraded to simple USB frustration if missed or no force or even if the culprit was just venting a warning but to direct ANYTHING with force at another is going to likely land you in trouble.

I actually had a player receive the hurt off a reckless tackle which I did caution but then the player on the ground had these poor quality chinsey shin pads that he ripped off and tossed into the air saying these are no fragging good! He had a rather large knot on his shin to be sure
One hit his own player and the other was caught by an opposition player. I did not caution him but did send him to the touchlines to get properly attired before I let him play.

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31887
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.