Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31772

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 9/10/2017

RE: Rec Under 15

Trent Futrell of Knoxville, TN USA asks...

In watching a game the other day, the keeper held the ball and walked out of the box. Referee blew the whistle and said it would be an indirect kick for the opposing team at the place where the keeper was holding the ball outside the box. Was this call correct? I thought outside the box, it would be considered a handball just like any other player and should be a direct kick.

Also, followup question. Later in the game, keeper got the ball passed by a teammate and keeper picked it up close to the goal. Ref blew the whistle. Indirect kick close to the goal (maybe 5 yards away). Are the defenders allowed to be on the goal line to defend the goal in this situation?

Thanks for the help as always.

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Trent,
you are spot on, if the keeper walked outside the PA holding onto the ball the moment that ball was completely outside the boundary line you have a DFK restart just a sliver outside the penalty area, at point where the handling offense first happened.

On your 2nd scenario if the INDFK is WITHIN the 6 yard goal area it MUST be brought straight back until it was on the 6 yard goal area line that parallels the goal line. NO INDFK can occur CLOSER than 6 yards to the goal itself. In cases where there is LESS than ten yards from the INDFK restart the defenders ARE permitted to stand ON the goal line between the posts and under the crossbar. ONLY on the goal line if they CHOOSE not to be there they STILL must be ten yards away in EVERY OTHER direction from the restart point. I watched a few of these restarts even at the top levels they still get them fouled up by incorrect ball placement and failure to impose the ten yards all around!
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Trent
Deliberate handling by a player including a goalkeeper is a penal offence punished by a direct free kick. As described it should have been a DFK from the spot where the goalkeeper carried the ball outside the penalty area.
On your second question any attacking IDFK awarded inside the goal area is brought back out to the six yard line directly opposite from where the offence took place. Defending players must be 10 yards from the ball or they can stand on the goal line between the posts. Outside the goalposts they must be ten yards away.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi Trent,
Disappointingly I've seen too many referees not understand this law.

When the keeper deliberately handles the ball (as was the case here) and that occurs outside the PA (the fact that the keeper didn't mean to go outside the PA is irrelevant), it falls under the exact same law as any other player deliberately handling it. DFK from where it occurred - that is, immediately outside the PA. There's no separate IFK offence for the keeper doing this.

As this cannot possibly be preventing an attack this should never result in a card.

It's only a foul if the ball has wholly passed the edge of the PA.

On your second question, this is covered by the free kick laws - the kick is brought to the edge of the GA and defenders can stand on the line. Not 'back foot on the line and lunging forwards' - fully on the line until it's kicked.



Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31772
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.