Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31609

Law 14 - The Penalty kick 6/18/2017

RE: Under 19

Gregory R Walker of Germantown, MD United States asks...

Pentaly is kicked and rebounds off the keeper a second player kicks the ball into the net, but came into the box as the ball after the ball was kicked and rebounded off the keeper.

What's the restart on this? Was the goal valid?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Gregory
Assuming that the scorer was outside the penalty area until after the kick then the goal is good. The restart is a kick off.
Now the challenge many times is determining the exact position of players at the moment of the kick. We know that can be difficult and many times unless it is blatantly obvious encroachment it is not identified as an offence with play continuing. Referees give a great deal of latitude here.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson


Hi Gregory,
based solely on your description a goal is awarded restart kick off!

At the taking of the PK all players MUST be outside the PA except the PK kicker and the opposing keeper. The ball is live the moment it leaves the foot of the kicker and any teammate can now enter the PA to legally play the ball. The very fact the ball rebounded off the keeper meant even the PK kicker could shoot the rebound as the ball has contacted another player after the restart thus the 2nd touch restriction was lifted!

The only factor here was the follow up shooter encroaching into the PA BEFORE the ball was initially struck? If so we have no goal and an INDFK out!
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31609
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - The Penalty kick

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.