Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 31507

Law 16 - The Goal Kick 5/3/2017

RE: Colony Level Other

Mehran Ali of Faisalabad, Punjab Pakistan asks...

The goalkeeper is starting with goal kick if he started with the player inside the box, is it a foul?

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi Mehran,
Other defenders may remain in the Penalty Area when a goal kick is taken - that's fine. They just can't touch the ball until it leaves the Penalty Area.

However, the attacking team cannot be in the Penalty Area until the ball has completely left the Penalty Area. Though if the keeper takes the kick and an attacker is still in the Penalty Area there's no foul against the keeper, though if the attacker interferes it will be a retake.

Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Mehran,
Defending players are allowed to be in their own penalty area at a goal kick without it being an offence but if they touch the ball inside the area, the kick is retaken.

Attacking players are officially not allowed inside the penalty area at a goal kick, although if they are there and do not interfere, play can be allowed to continue since, as the FAQ to Law 16 mentions, ''the goal kick is often taken before the player has had time to leave the penalty area.''

However, if an attacker touches the ball inside the area or if an attacker who was in the penalty area challenges for or touches the ball (even outside the penalty area) before another player touches it, that would also be a retake.

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Mehran
Attacking players are not allowed inside the penalty area at a goal kick or defending free kick. However on a quick goal kick the referee will allow play to continue with attacking players inside the penalty area provided the attackers do not touch the ball inside the area.
If the ball is touched by any player inside the penalty area after the goal kick / defending free kick the kick is retaken

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Mehran,
the quickly taken goal kick or any free kick inside the PA taken by defenders still requires the ball to be stationary and clear the PA prior to being touched. The opposition are not supposed to be in the PA or play the ball until it clears and must still be aware of the 10 yards withdrawal . The no touch restriction of the ball until it CLEARS the PA completely applies to the attackers as well.

Once the ball is kicked no one can do anything until it CLEARS the PA.
So if an opponent chose to stop the kick before it exited the PA, we do not fault him for not getting outside as there was no time, we could fault him though for delaying the restart because the ball was unplayable inside the PA .
In such a case this could even be cautionable if it was deliberate of course if the ball simply struck him as he was exiting it is retake plain and simple!

This would apply to the defender, if they deliberately stopped a ball from exiting because the attackers were going to get control on a poor kick just outside the PA they too could be held accountable for delaying the restart and cautioned .


Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31507
Read other Q & A regarding Law 16 - The Goal Kick

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.