- Soccer Referee Resources
- Ask a Question
- Recent Questions
RSS FEED Subscribe Now!
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
Question Number: 31366
Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 3/19/2017
RE: Rec Adult
russell of Sydney, Australia asks...
Keeper brain fade ends in red, however, is there a careless IFK foul by the attacker.
No question the keeper should see red for his actions, however, is there a case to say the attacker's actions " whether deliberate or not " were a hinderance to the keeper being able to potentially release the ball early.
We give DFK's for unintentional yet still careless tackles and challenges.
Even if we consider the attacker stumbled resulting in his arms in some form grabbing the keeper, is there any argument to say there was an IFK first by the attacker, then, the elbow by the keepers, and as such, the restart is the IDF out.
Guess what I'm seeking clarity on is, irrespective if it was an IFK or not - for the debate, lets say it was, would the restart be the IFK to the defending them, as the elbow was after the IFK.
Or, as we are advised to punish the more serious foul, is that the case in this instance (if we agree there was an IFK for the sake of the debate).
As an aside, we really need to get to a place where the Referee does not need to be walking backwards in these moments. Other codes manage to make it clear that you cannot attempt to boss the officials.
And on that note, certainly the EPL appears to have soften it stance on backchat from how it was policed at the beginning of this campaign.
Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh
Not sure what the referee saw here or how much of it he saw. He certainly saw the elbow by the goalkeeper which is violent conduct and a penalty kick if that was all that happened. Now the attacker was guilty of a holding foul before that on the GK so IMHO the correct decision was a red card for the goalkeeper, a yellow card for the attacker for holding and a DFK to the defending team.
These are not simultaneous fouls as if they were the referee could penalise the more serious offence which would be the violent conduct
Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh
View Referee Joe McHugh profile
Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller
I agree with Referee Joe McHugh. Often times we have a foul and then a retaliation after becomes misconduct. Thus if the keeper was held up, the referee decides to call that foul, and then keepers gets frustrated and elbowed the attacker..it should be a free kick going out after the red card. An interesting question is that if the referee chooses to apply advantage and allow the keeper to punt the ball....did the keeper ruin it for himself by elbowing the attacker? One could say that the advantage never pursued as the keeper didn't use the advantage, but at the same time it was the keepers free will and choice to elbow the attacker.
Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller
View Referee Ben Mueller profile
- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31366
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct
- Soccer Referee Extras
Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.
Enter Question Number
If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer
Offside Question?Offside Explained
by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.