Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 30526

Law 11 - Offside 6/19/2016

RE: Rec Adult

Anna Sanchez of Sierra Vista, Arizona USA asks...

If an attacking player kicks the ball to another player who is onside when the ball is kicked, but the ball deflects off of another attacker to the receiving player who is now in an offside position. Are they offside or is the call taken from when the ball was originally kicked?

Answer provided by Referee Gene Nagy

At the moment of the original kick, nobody is offside. As the ball travels, an attacker moves into an offside position. The ball is deflected by another attacker. Since this 'deflection' is a new play, the play is reassessed. Because the deflection came from an attacker, or better said 'touched' by an attacker, the attacker receiving the ball is offside.
If the deflection is from a defendant, not offside.

Read other questions answered by Referee Gene Nagy

View Referee Gene Nagy profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Anna
This is offside. The deflection off another attacker is a new play and as the receiving player was by that time in an offside position that must be called offside. Law 11 states that and I quote ** A player in an offside position is only penalised if, at the moment the ball touches or is played by one of his team he is, in the opinion of the referee, involved in active play by:......**. The key word here is touches. It makes no difference if the touch of the ball by the attacker is intentional or not. In your example the deflection is still a touch of the ball by the attacking team so we judge offside at that moment not the previous original one.
Now in the situation of the ball deflecting off a defender in a similar situation there is no possibility of offside as the player at the moment of the play by his team mate was in an onside position and it makes no difference the location in which he receives the ball or that it is touched by an opponent.
Have a look at this video.
At the moment of the cross from the left all the White players are onside. The ultimate goalscorer moves to an offside position during the flight of the cross. Now had the ball touched another White player in the centre the scorer would have been called offside. As it turned out the ball was last played forward toward the goal by a Red defender which then meant it could not be offside even if that touch by Red was a deflection / rebound.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 30526
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.