Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 21110

Law 11 - Offside 4/9/2009

RE: Youth Under 19

Gordon Dillon of Whitburn, West Lothian United Kingdom asks...

If an attacking team attempt to play a pass through to a player who is in an off-side position, is the player deemed on-side if the ball hits a defender on the way through?

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Gordon a deflection of the ball off a defender changes NOTHING of offside criteria for the opposition attackers. The offside infraction will be called and an INDFK out awarded.

For the offside phase to be reset for the attackers requires the defenders to have complete control and possession of the ball to take away the involvement restriction of the offside attackers!

Can you grasp that for a BRIEF time after a deflection that both sides COULD have offside personal restricted from active play at the same time?

While a deflection of the ball does not rescind the involvement restriction for the other team it does COUNT as touch for that PLAYER'S team mates and positional restrictions occurs for THAT team.
Just for fun I will reiterate a black hole event
-Blue #3 is offside just 5 yards inside the red half at the far touchline!
-2nd last red defender #9 standing just on the midline!
-There is a red #4 player in an offside postion who is down inside the blue penalty are towards the far touchline when a Blue clearance hammers the ball against the knee of 2nd last red defender #9 standing just on the midline!
-Ball deflects back into the blue half towards the far touchline
(Summary) At the time of the blue clearance blue # 3 was restricted from play!
When the ball rebounded off the knee of red #9 defender, red #4 player was restricted from play! BUT because it was a DEFLECTION blue #3 STILL cannot participate!
Blue #3 runs back into his own half mistakenly thinking it puts him bake onside when in fact it does not and he chases the ball.
Our late returning red #4 striker also chases the ball?
If it looks like ONLY those two are in pursuit of the ball WHICH team gets the offside and WHERE does the indfk occur from??

good luck

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

Yes, been that way since 1978!!!

Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

If the ball gets to the player that was in offside position when the ball was played by a teammate, and that player touches the ball, he is guilty of an offside offense by interfering with play. A deflection off an opponent does not reset offside. The opponent would have to control the ball.

Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 21110
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.