Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 21104

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 4/8/2009

RE: Competitive Under 15

Kurt Harris of Bixby, OK USA asks...

The ball has gone out of play and is Team A's throw in. Team A's player knocks down Team B's player right after ball has gone out. What is the proper call and restart?

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

Follow the logic, and it will get you there.

The ball leaves the field for a throw-in. So ball is out of play.

Team A commits misconduct during a dead ball situation (it's dead because it is out of play).

We know we can't change the restart which is the throw-in, but is there something else we can do?

Of course! Issue a caution or sending off to the player who knocked down the opponent. Either way, a Team A player has a card and her team still has a throw-in.

Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

The ball, you say, has gone out of play over the touch line so the ONLY possible restart is a throw-in. Team A's player is either cautioned and shown the yellow card or sent off and shown the red card depending on the amount of force used. It's also possible that, in the opinion of the referee, Player A did not knock Player B down through any unfair action on his part. That is to say there would be no misconduct and no card of any kind. Regardless, the restart has to be a throw-in.

Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

Kurt, you have a breach of discipline here. These are handled as misconduct and once that is finished you'll restart commensurate with how play stopped in the first place. You said that was for throw-in.


Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Throw -in and before the restart a verbal warning to the transgressor and see to the downed player! If the misconduct was cautionable, show yellow OR if excessive, send off, show red and reduce the side.

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 21104
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.