Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 12345

Law 13 - Free Kicks 3/12/2006

RE: classic Adult

scott keeter of wilson, nc usa asks...

can a player be in the penalty area on a direct or indirect kick

Answer provided by Referee Debbie Hoelscher

A player can be in the penalty area if they are defenders in their own penalty area (PA) when a kick is being taken from the PA. Opponents must retreat outside the PA. The ball is not in play until it wholly crossed the line which marks the PA. Which means that even though the defenders are in th PA, they can't play the ball until it completely leaves the PA.

Read other questions answered by Referee Debbie Hoelscher

View Referee Debbie Hoelscher profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Scott,

Defender's free kicks inside their own PENALTY AREA

If the free kick is a DFK or an INDFK in favour of the defenders all attackers are required to exit the penalty area = (PA) as well as retreat the manditory 10 yards, the same as in a GOAL KICK!. The ball MUST leave the confines of the PA boundrylines before ANY player of either team can play it!

There is a special circumstance in law 8 that allows for ANY freekick DFK or INDFK in favour of the DEFENDER'S inside their own goal area to be taken from any point within that area.



If it is a DFK for the attackers it is in law a penalty kick = (PK ) As you know only the defending keeper and the PK kicker are allowed inside the PA. ALL other players from both teams are outside the PA and 10 yards away from the restart with no offside possible.

For an attacking INDFK there are no restrictions as to who or how many players of either team cram themselves within the 18 yard PA!

There are two restrictions that are different as opposed to regular law. In law 8 special circumstances any INDFK offence that occurs inside the 6 yard goal area is always brought back to the outermost edge of that goal area paralleling the goalline. Thus no attacking INDFK restart can EVER be closer than 6 yards to the goalline.

Now for a real unusual bent the 10 yard MANDITORY free kick distance the opponents must withdraw to is altered in that for ANY indfk by the attackers that is between 10 yards and 6 yards away from the goalline the DEFENDERS may stand ON the goaline in between the posts and under the crossbar along side the keeper.


Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 12345
Read other Q & A regarding Law 13 - Free Kicks

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 12094

See Question: 21108

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.