Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login
[Previous] [Next]

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 12/4/2017

Peter Atherton of London, UK asks...

Hi- a player was through on goal well inside the penalty area. He got his shot off marginally before a defender slide from his side and wiped him out. Clear foul. His shot went wide and probably crossed the line at same moment the foul was made. If ...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 11 - Offside 12/4/2017

Mark of Reading, Berks UK asks...

Hi,

During our match on Saturday one of our players was correctly flagged offside and the ref awarded an indirect free kick.

When the opposition took the kick, two of their players were in an offside position and both interfered wit...

Read The Full Q & A

Other 12/1/2017

Aaron Speca of Virginia Beach, VA United States asks...

No question really, I just wanted to say thank you for not only your ongoing advice on calls, but also on the little coaching tips you sometimes include with the reactions on the refereeing. For example, in this particular question my son was the bl...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 11/30/2017

Aaron Speca of Virginia Beach, VA USA asks...

This one is tougher to call for me than it appeared to be when I saw it live. I was sure that there was a foul on the black attacker, but now I'm not as sure. Originally I thought the contact had started after the ball was played away by the blue d...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 11/30/2017

Richard of Derby, Derbyshire United Kingdom asks...

If a Goalkeeper gets any touch on the ball when diving at the feet of an attacker in the penalty area, is this automatically NOT a penalty? eg. Goalkeeper dives and gets a slight hand on the ball which doesn't discernibly change its speed or directi...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 11/29/2017

Derek of Glasgow, Scotland asks...

A players momentum takes him out of play behind the goal whilst the ball stays in play. The player then re-enters the field of play and attempts to play the ball and in the process is deemed to have been fouled and the ref awards a penalty. It his ...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 11/29/2017

George of Parangarecutirimicuaro, CA Sacratomato asks...

In a tough match, during a period of time where the ball is being blasted into the air back and forth, red player, with no players in front of him, positions himself to blast the ball upfield. The ball bounces in front of him about shoulder height. A...

Read The Full Q & A

Other 11/28/2017

Bill Ark of Calgary, Alberta Canada asks...

From a 34 year coach, 40 year player, Ref 20 years;
It is difficult to watch European, Mexico, Central and South American,( African ?), professional soccer/football with all the Pushing and Holding Interference with arms and hands. Th...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 11/27/2017

Marwaan of Cape town, Western cape South Africa asks...

Defender handles ball on goal line, ref blows for spot kick. AR Does moves in position for spot kick then calls ref over to say he made mistake, that a player was offside before ball was handled. Can ref reverse and allow offside or continue with spo...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 11/27/2017

hussian of kuwait, kuwait kuwait asks...

If a players only acts the he will touch the ball with his hands then leaves it,keeping in mind that he fooled the guys behind him to leave the ball
is it considered an offence ?...

Read The Full Q & A

[Previous] [Next]

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.